i keep thinking 

i keep thinking that there is

a world inside this world 

where there is no pain.

maybe if i surround myself with beauty, 

nothing will hurt me.

maybe if i embrace waywardness and join the other misfits, 

i will be safe.

maybe if I lean entirely into the people I love without their awareness, 

this cup will pass from me.

maybe if I run far and fast enough, 

nothing will touch me.

but i know it is stupid logic, 

trying to outrun your shadow.

there’s no way to escape it 

but there are small places and faces that will shine and beckon you home.

it’s going to happen but you won’t be alone.

you’re never alone.

photo: beth kirby
Leave a Reply

